You can’t always get what you want…

April 27, 2010

The landlord of the perfect studio didn’t pick us….He picked some other couple who saw the place before us. It’s a bit like being rejected after a job interview, except that he didn’t really interview us. Filippo did his best to sell our wonderfulness to him, but he must have had something else in mind. I hope the people he did pick turn out to be crackheads or something…just kidding…sort of.

Filippo played the rejection voicemail for me as I was waking up this morning. I responded by curling up into the fetal position facing the wall. I just want to give up, but I can’t.

So the search continues. I had my hopes up so high for that one that I stopped searching for good alternatives. Of course I only took one day off of the search, and now I’m back at it, so I’m sure no great opportunities will go unnoticed because I didn’t search yesterday.

But I am finding it harder to search today. I think I’m losing my stamina. I don’t want to settle for a place that doesn’t meet my criteria, but my options are limited, and I only have 4 days. I’m started to think that we’re just screwed.

I’m trying to tell myself that if this place rejected us, there must be some better place in store…but time is running out!

Leave a Reply

